Doctor or vet?

I’ve had palpitations all day. It was the dog’s fault although I shouldn’t blame her really. In my early morning fug I swallowed her heart pill with my juice.

I failed miserably to make myself sick and thought who should I call, the doctor or the vet? I called neither and decided as she’s greatly improved on the cocktail of pills I push down her throat every day, what harm can it do? Unfortunately that one tablet left me feeling decidedly wobbly; my nose dried, my head spun and my tail stopped wagging. 

I miss the company of my geriatric four legged friend across the heath and surrounding fields. She just cannot manage to walk so far now. She seems to have reduced her horizons quite willingly to sniffing out tasty morsels wherever she can find them. Her latest trick being to steal the fish food when I’m not looking. No not from the packet but by stretching her head down into the pond to reach the floating sticks before the fish do. I wondered why she was coming in from the garden with wet feet.

I opted for a quiet day; no coffee or chocolate to stir my thumping heart further; no shuffle up the lane with my doggy pal. Things are beginning to calm down now but an almighty hangover has kicked in. Was this caffeine withdrawal or should I take another dog pill? Oh what a day!

About jaytale

My name's Jill but I'm Jack of all trades and master of none. I've been writing, mainly poetry and short pieces for a long time and decided to concentrate a little harder to see if I can master this at least. I paint both the house and pictures when inspiration strikes. I am a country bumpkin who loves to be outdoors and enjoy meeting interesting people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doctor or vet?

  1. SallyJ says:

    chew on a meusli bone – it seems to perk up my mutts no end…

Leave a Reply

