Collecting people

I like collecting people.

Sometimes they are quiet souls that can be missed easily if you are in a hurry. Sometimes they are loud and extrovert; exciting or perhaps annoying. Some I might try and draw, usually as soon as I return home or find pencil and paper. This is usually to aid my memory for future reference.  Some become just notes for a story.

Some take me by surprise and work on my subconcious without me being aware and arrive unexpectedly as a poem. With the following poem, I didn’t realise until I reached home from a trip to the supermarket, how much I had noticed about this couple for the verse came really quickly.

Shopping for the past

Love for her was Maltesers
as she battled with wrapper
to open the door to her childhood.
He returned to their trolley,
smiled into her animated face
as she cupped his hands with hers
around chocolate memories.
They moved through the aisles,
like their years, together,
while sweet gems were foraged deep
from cellophane –
presented with pride.
He slipped each one away
into his pocket with care
until the last memory had gone.
The packet and her eyes, empty.

About jaytale

My name's Jill but I'm Jack of all trades and master of none. I've been writing, mainly poetry and short pieces for a long time and decided to concentrate a little harder to see if I can master this at least. I paint both the house and pictures when inspiration strikes. I am a country bumpkin who loves to be outdoors and enjoy meeting interesting people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

