Autistically speaking …

Summer is threatening to close in with alarming speed; temperatures are dropping, the days shortening and some trees are showing an autumnal tinge. A group of us have managed our Poetry in the Garden workshop with tutor Sally without a raindrop splashing the page. We think this is down to Sally who has placed an order for fine weather every week. 

We have been led through the Haibun, the Villanelle, Tercets, Pantoums, Rondeau, Triolet and Octain. Sally asked if I’d lost weight and I admitted just two or three pounds but I think I’ve discovered a new diet. It’s the ‘Poetry Diet’. I’ve decided mental gymnastics require as much energy as the treadmill at the gym. The discipline of trying to keep to form, make sense when repetition of rhyming words or refrain are used is difficult. This is not helped when we read published poets who break all the rules and seem to get away with it. But I suppose it’s like anything, the more you practise, the easier it becomes. 

Last week we tackled the Rondeau. For a moment I was challenged by the idea of a Rondeau Redouble but chickened out at the last moment with the following.

Autistically speaking …

Now Monday can be any day
worn happily without dismay,
it is a sign that things are good
and maybe with the likelihood
embroidered socks are here to stay.

It has been hard to find his way;
remain on route and never stray
in other worlds, misunderstood.
Now Monday can.

It’s up to him to have his say
but know that black is sometimes grey
and as his socks have proved, he should
attempt to tackle more and could
because he knows his feet convey,
now Monday can.

About jaytale

My name's Jill but I'm Jack of all trades and master of none. I've been writing, mainly poetry and short pieces for a long time and decided to concentrate a little harder to see if I can master this at least. I paint both the house and pictures when inspiration strikes. I am a country bumpkin who loves to be outdoors and enjoy meeting interesting people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autistically speaking …

  1. SallyJ says:

    Jill – see how well this sits on the page. As I said yesterday, it is a great Rondeau and the subject matter benefits form the form. Powerful and moving, with implied hope. Well done.

Leave a Reply

