Luke Prater – Poet – thank you for the Octain

A friend and prize winning poet introduced me to the Octain, a new form created by poet, Luke Prater. Writing poetry to a specific form can be quite daunting and challenging but that is part of the fun. A trip to the brain gym is good exercise and hopefully if done often enough will show some results.

I do not like obscure poetry but I do worry sometimes the things I write are t00 personal and are not experiences generally shared (thank goodness), so I will explain this one by saying it is a mother talking to her adult autistic son.

If written entirely true to Luke’s form, I think this High Octain should read as one complete stanza. I have broken it into four in an attempt to help comprehension. I hope he will not mind.

I gave you my future

It was a burden on your head
too great perhaps and so unfair
to try and make you be aware.

You would not know, it was unsaid.
My future’s set but with regret
that I can’t make yours right; instead
I have to make amends and care
about the burden on your head.

It was a burden on your head
expecting you to want to dare
and understand the world we share.

You see its puzzle pieces spread
beyond your net, your grasp and yet
the picture’s there. First born please tread
across my life with kindly care.
Was it a burden on your head?

About jaytale

My name's Jill but I'm Jack of all trades and master of none. I've been writing, mainly poetry and short pieces for a long time and decided to concentrate a little harder to see if I can master this at least. I paint both the house and pictures when inspiration strikes. I am a country bumpkin who loves to be outdoors and enjoy meeting interesting people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Luke Prater – Poet – thank you for the Octain

  1. SallyJ says:

    Wow Jill this is so powerful. Personally I do think the stanza breaks help. I’m sure Luke won’t mind…after all experimentation must be the way he decided on the form in the first place.

    • jaytale says:

      Thank you yet again Sally. It was really good to write with everyone in the Garden this summer – now will have to keep trying more forms and see what comes out.

Leave a Reply

