A poem for the New Year

The sky cries farewell to the old year –
raining cleansing tears
to wash the earth
of last year’s sin.
This, the first day
of the first month,
with its grey wetness
offers no false promise
to lift our spirits
and tests our resolve to
aim for better things.
This rain is our lifeblood –
it feeds our rivers,
fills the oceans,
grows our seeds.
Each new year brings its gift –
a chance to start again. 

2012 arrived wrapping the day in a wet blanket. Not too inspiring but I thought I’d not be beaten and started with my first verse for the year.

 

 

 

About jaytale

My name's Jill but I'm Jack of all trades and master of none. I've been writing, mainly poetry and short pieces for a long time and decided to concentrate a little harder to see if I can master this at least. I paint both the house and pictures when inspiration strikes. I am a country bumpkin who loves to be outdoors and enjoy meeting interesting people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A poem for the New Year

  1. SallyJ says:

    ‘with its grey wetness
    offers no false promise
    to lift our spirits’
    so true, and yet you found the motivation to write and end your poem on a positive note.
    Lovely – well done Jill, starting the year as you mean to go on.
    Happy New Year to you and yours…

    • jaytale says:

      Thank you Sally. All my resolve to get blogging on a regular basis this year is flagging but the brain cells will revive as will the New Year. Here’s to Good 2012!

Leave a comment